Google has introduced Confidential Mode to its Gmail application, allowing users to passcode-protect their communications and set expiration dates for both email content and attachments.

If Chief Quimby used Gmail, he'd know about the new mobile Confidential Mode with expiring messages and probably have saved himself quite a bit of trouble getting information to Inspector Gadget.

Google is today rolling out one of Gmail's modern features to mobile devices. You can use confidential mode to set an expiration date for messages or revoke access at any time.

The sender of a confidential email can also require recipients to enter a passcode (sent via SMS or email) to open the message. The Gmail account on Twitter announced the arrival of the feature that lets you put a self-destruct timer of conversations to “protect sensitive information from unauthorized access.”.

The Electronic Frontier Foundation (EFF) digital privacy advocacy group thinks that this new mode isn't secure at all, and might even lend users a false sense of security.

Ramos: Real Madrid will win again
Ghana midfielder Thomas Partey expects a great season after Atletico Madrid beat rivals Real Madrid to clinch the UEFA Super Cup on Wednesday.

Erdogan says Turkey will defy economic threats
Ankara, which in 2015 set up a military base in Qatar, sent in troops amid the "Gulf Crisis" in June 2017. The White House has said there could be more economic measures against Turkey if Brunson is not released.

Turkish lira weakens to 5.86, USA warns of more sanctions
Albayrak addressed thousands of investors in a teleconference on Thursday to update about the state of the economy. And Qatar's investment in Turkey was over $20bn, the second highest value of investments by any country in Turkey.

Open Gmail app tap on the menu icon on the left go to Sent. All passcodes will be generated by Google while non-Gmail recipients will get an email passcode to authenticate.

The app will then present a list of options related to the new feature.

On the top right, tap on three dots and tap on Confidential Mode.

It is worth noting once an email is sent any self-destruct date that was chosen can not be altered. Once you click it, you'll see the various settings you can enable. Additionally, recipients can't forward, copy, print or download these emails.

Open the mail sent via Confidential mode, scroll down to the bottom of the screen.


COMMENTS